Sled Reviews - Snow Tube Reviews - Toboggan Reviews
Welcome to the very popular snow sleds (and more) reviews brought to you by SledRiding.com!

(ATTN: FIRST TIME VISITORS: PLEASE BE PATIENT WHILE THIS PACKED PAGE LOADS.)
GOT A TREE? IF SO, VISIT EXTREMESWINGS.COM FOR EXTREME SWINGING FUN!




Help Support Our Database Project ...       ... And Get Noticed!   ( Benefactors )







HOME // STORE







Review Date: Oct. 3rd, 2015

Type:Big Bertha 7 Foot Tall Snow Tube

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:






BUY BIG BERTHA HERE.

LARGEST RUBBER TUBE ON THE PLANET!


A Whopping 7 Feet Tall! BIG Bertha is a Huge 84+" Butyl Tire Inner Tube. Not cheap vinyl but a real tire; heavy duty and super fun! This is the largest recreational tube on the market, period. Outside diameter Max is 84", recommend 78" for air expansion. Inside diameter is 36". Height when laying flat is 24". There is a LARGE volume of air in the tube, so you have to allow for air expansion if the tube is not contained (ie: Cover or Tire Shell). The valve is the fast deflation TR 218A for added convenience! This is an awesomely large and FUN snow tube that you can pack 6 people (or more) on for a thrilling ride down a sledding hill.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Oct. 2nd, 2014

Type: Miniature Sleds

Snow Conditions: N/A

Webmaster's Overall Rating:




BUY MINIATURE SLEDS HERE.

Best Miniature Sled Collection Anywhere!


Small can be fun too!! New for the 2014/2015 winter season, the Sled Riding Store is offering a variety of miniature snow sleds, 1:20 scale (on the average) . These can be used for child's play (train city, doll house, etc.) or as decoration in locations such as a desk, mantle or on a Christmas tree as an ornament just to name a few. Only the best of the best have been rounded up to choose from, and the selection list is always growing or changing. These make a great stocking stuffer idea!!!


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Jan. 24, 2014

Type: Rugged Camo Hauling & Riding Sled

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:






BUY CAMO HAULING SLEDS IN OUR STORE HERE

Best "Hauling" Sled


RUGGED CAMO SLED!! This sled can do it all .......... use it for hauling or sled riding! Made of a very rugged polyethylene, this firm sled will soon be your best friend. This is not some flimsy molded sled, but rather a quality made workhorse. Use it for hualing firewood, decoys, traps, feed or transporting that deer during your next hunt. It also doubles as an excellent sled for kids and adults alike (see pic showing rider). The camo image is part of the polyethylene, not some cheap decal overlay, and will blend into your surroundings nicely. So, if you want a top notch multi-purpose sled, then look no further. Check them out in our store here!


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Dates: Dec. 3rd, 2013 / Sep. 27th, 2015

Type: 2015 Hammerhead Pro X Sled

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:




BUY HAMMERHEAD SLEDS IN OUR STORE HERE

Best Visual Appeal Runner Sled


The Improved Hammerhead Has Arrived! If you look below on this review page we had reviewed this sled back in September, 2009. This years color is ORANGE. PLUS, they also improved the carving skis by riveting them to the frame. So no more of the carving skis falling off from the failing clips (as some people had claimed) that used to hold them on. I give the improved color options and riveted to the body skis two thumbs up! Check them out in our store here!


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Nov. 9th, 2013

Type: Snow Tube & Sled Paste Wax

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Snow tube and Sled Wax

Sled Wax Comparison

BUY SLED WAX IN OUR STORE HERE

Best Snow Tube & Sled Wax.

AFTER 9 YEARS, IT'S FINALLY HERE! An exclusive SledRiding.com product. Every sledder and snow tuber needs wax. It's a must have to gain speed. By waxing the base of your sled or snow tube you will reduce the friction that your sled has with the snow and increase your speed dramatically. Our exclusive, custom wax was made specifically for sleds and snow tubes to remove the friction factor and can only be found right here to purchase. It's easy to apply: Just unscrew the top, wipe on the wax with the applicator provided within, let it dry to a haze after a few minutes, then buff it off. Each can provides multiple applications and will last most sledders the entire sledding season. Each 60 gram can will easily fit into your pocket if you want to bring it along with you. Works best on snow tube bottoms, fiberglass sled bottoms and plastic sled bottoms. Be unique, Get a can today!.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Nov. 1st, 2013

Type: Sleboggan

Snow Conditions: Packed & Semi-Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Sleboggan Sleboggan



BUY A SLEBOGGAN HERE

Best Sled Steering Device

UNIQUE SLED STEERING DEVICE! A "Sleboggan" allows a sleboggoner to control, tow and steer one or more of today's plastic toboggans or sleds. You can even connect a bunch of plastic toboggans together to make a train run. This device is the essential key that you will need to steer you down the run. Each Sleboggan device has a set of 3 runners that grip the snow to allow you to steer your sled. Needless to say, this is a GREAT invention by Bill Herrick. See a video example above. You can view many more Sleboggan videos right here. The Link 1 model weighs a little over 7 lbs. and the Griffin model weighs a little over 5 lbs. They are almost 3' long by 2' wide and made of a combination of wood and fiberglass. Both the Link 1 and the Griffin come with labels and operating instructions. The top of the Griffin model has an epoxy fiber glassed dye sublimated top sheet covering the plywood core for ridgidness and strength. The bottom has three steel runners secured to bottom rails (see Griffin bottom here). The bottom also has three coats of fiberglass resin for additional strength. They are manufactured right here in the USA by Bill Herrick! You can read the history behind the Sleboggan and see Bill with one of his prototype models right here. You can buy a slebbogan right here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP





Review Date: Dec. 20th, 2012

Type: Colorful Fiberglass Saucer Sleds

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Colorful Fiberglass Saucer Sled Colorful Fiberglass Saucer Sled

Now available in a swing version at ExtremeSwings.com

Colorful Fiberglass Saucer Sled Colorful Fiberglass Captain America Saucer Sled
Colorful Fiberglass Batman Saucer Sled

BUY A COLORFUL FIBERGLASS SAUCER SLED IN OUR STORE!

Best, Highest Quality Saucer Sled Ever, PERIOD!



VARIOUS JEWELED FIBERGLASS COLORS! Here is something that you rarely see snow saucer sled wise. It was offered to just family members for the last 25 years, but this year, 2012, is the first winter season the USA fiberglass manufacturer is offering the best saucer sled to the public! Who knew? I was so excited about this product that I personally made the one hour drive to the factory that manufactures these on 20DEC12. I saw the entire process and can testify to a top quality saucer sled. When I showed up, I really didn't know they had more than just the 26" saucer sled. They surprised me by not only showing me a larger 32" saucer sled geared towards larger kids and adults (see my wife pictured sitting in one above), but an AMAZING Captain America 26" saucer sled that can double as a snow toy shield (see photo above). The photo doesn't do it justice. Captain America would be proud to have this sled, OMG! Anyway, these colorful saucer sleds are professionally constructed of hand laid multi layers of fiberglass, much like a boat hull. These are NOT some cheapo plastic saucer sled like you would find at Wally world. When I was at the factory they actually turned one upside down and stood on the saucer. It stayed firm and solid! These are truly indestructable and will last for DECADES. The face has a thick tough layer of clear gel coat that brings out the depth and brilliance of the jewels. Inside is a light gray stone finish. There are nine jeweled colors to choose from and many more on the way, plus endless mixing options. Emerald green, candy apple red, blue, orange and purple to just name a few, but many many color combinations can be made. In fact they mixed some of the royal blue and silver sparkles in a cup and let me tell you, that is a HOT combination. Another HOT combination was a mixture of silver and red in a cup. Pictures can not show their true depth and briliance. They look incredible under the Christmas tree. Just add a bow. The 26" saucer sled weights about 8 lbs. and the 32" saucer sled weighs about 15 lbs. Pictured is the 26" molded model for $99.99 + shipping, and my wife is in the 32" model which will retail soon for around $149,99 + shipping and be available within the next few days at the link above. The 32" model is ranked in my top 3 for the best adult snow sled here. The Captain American 26" sled will retail for around $159.99 and also will be available within the next few days at the link above. Some are made up ready to ship, others can be manufactured and shipped in about 3 days. Don't let the price scare you folks. You are paying for a TOP QUALITY snow saucer sled like no other anywhere in the world. Just look at that super slick, glossy, glass bottom. Can you imaging the speed before adding our exclusive sled wax to this? You'd be like the above video from National Lampoons Christmas Vacation. Well, guess what I did when I got home with my 32" candy apple red one. Yep, I waxed it and ummm, OMG, is this gonna be fun!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Snow Tube Review Date: Nov. 15th, 2012

Type: 60"+ BIG, HUGE, MONSTER Innertubes

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Monster, Giant Rubber Innertube for Sledding

BUY A SIMILAR MONSTER INNER TUBE HERE

THE KING OF REAL RUBBER INNER TUBES! When it comes to monster rubber innertubes, these tractor inner tubes are the king. At 65"+, these are usually found in large farm equipment tires (i.e. tractors). They are universal year round to be used in a river, lake or on the snowy slopes! They are also made from real rubber, so they can take the abuse. You can pile a bunch of people on one of these.

2013 NOTE: We now sell direct with FREE SHIPPING from our SledRiding.com store
replacement inner tubes for the 44" and 54" covered snow tubes!

Slick up the rubber with some spray PAM cooking oil to increase your snow tube speed. Packed, well traveled, icy snow will generally be a faster run. See a listing of commercial snow tubing parks here.




Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.
Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Snow Tube Review Date: Nov. 9th, 2012

Type: BIG, Quality Snow Tubes

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Clear Creek Commercial Snow Tubes

BUY A CLEAR CREEK SNOW TUBE IN OUR STORE!

Best Affordable Snow Tube Retailer"

COLORS GALORE! Clear Creek Snow Tubes is a home based business manufacturer in Westminster, Colorado looking to sell you a fantastic product! These snow tubes are NOT cheaply made, but have a strong 600 denier polyester canvas top that is both mildew resistant (for better storage) and are UV resistant (for maximum non-fading of colors) with a very thick, very durable, and very heavy weight industrial vinyl bottom. Clear Creek Snow Tubes also sells are large variety of Towable Snow Tubes. They have a large color selection for both boys and girls (men and women ...... you know you want one mom and dad!). For girls that like pink, check out their Girly Girl Snow Tubes Here. See a listing of commercial snow tubing parks here.

Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz



BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Dec. 7, 2011

Type: Flexible Flyer 50" Tornado Snow Tube

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Flexible Flyer Tornado Snow Tube



HOLD ON KRISTEN! This large 50" diameter snow tube has the Flexible Flyer name brand quality. It is great for one or two riders, however this is geared more toward lighter rides (i.e. kids and teens). It also makes a great summer pool tube or river tube. It is made of heavy duty cold-resistant PVC Construction and gives the rider a nice amount of speed. We gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because though it is of good construction for the low price, it isn't nearly as high quality of a snow tube as other vinyl wrapped ones here on this page. However, for 20 something bucks, it is perfect for a season or two of sled riding, and as you can see from the photo, it has proven that it can give a ride to remember. Once again, this is geared toward those less than 200 lbs (or better yet, less than 150 lbs. in my opinion). If you are heavier than 200 lbs. or an adult aggresive snow tuber, then get one of the vinyl wrappred tire tubes on this page.

Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Oct. 12, 2010

Type: Zipfy Freestyle Mini Luge

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Zipfy Snow Sled

FOR KIDS AGES 6 TO 106! Holding up to 250 lbs., this little, compact, rugged plastic Zipfy (pronounced Zip-Fee) mini luge will provide you endless hours of high speed fun down that next slope without worrying about lugging something heavy back up. You can carve down the slopes simply by leaning into the turn while holding the center handle. To control speed, the rider simply drops his heels and slows the sled's momentum. For a more immediate stop, the rider lifts the handle, leans back and digs the rear of the sled into the ground. Extreme Zipfy riders take on some of the most extreme slopes in the world with on of these, like the Swiss alps as seen in the video here. They come in a large variety of colors, but I must say that the black and white one as pictured above is the most popular and often sold out color.



Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP



Snow Tube Review Date: Nov. 16th, 2009

Type: BIG 44" Commercial Snow Tube (PIMPED)

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Blue Quality Snow TubeBlue Quality Snow Tube
Snow Tube Lights

BUY THE SNOW GLOW POD LIGHTS HERE



Best Quality Snow Tube Retailer

2013 NOTE: We now sell direct with FREE SHIPPING from our SledRiding.com store
replacement inner tubes for these 44" covered snow tubes!

I PIMPED MY TUBE! Thats right! I personally added a couple of upgrades to this awesome blue commercial snow tube from RiverandSnowTubes.com. As you may have seen below from the previous review of that I did in 2008 of their red commercial snow tube, these are the best snow tubes on the market. In fact, the commercial 44" model is ranked number 1 for the best adult snow sled here. What I did with this blue snow tube was add 2 long-life LED lights velcroed to the handles and some acrylic stencilling. The velcro LED lights come in BLUE, RED, and GREEN by Black Jax Sports (see links to buy above). These can be seen up to 2 miles away and will surely make you the talk of that next night time sledding venture! The stencil is a "single use" stencil from JustStencils.com and the font on my tube is Impact. I had them italicize it on special request. I used acrylic white paint, since that was what was recommended for use on vinyl. I applied 3 coats, allowing time to dry in between each application of the paint. You can see this snow tube used in this video that I made here. Also, see a listing of commercial snow tubing parks here.

I also added a foam pad in the center to provide more cushion for the tushy when getting some airtime. With that addition, it is now one of the best adult snow sleds on the market. You can see a photo of the snow tube's foam pad here. I had it custom made at FoamForYou.com. The details on dimensions and type of foam are on the photo. I requested black as the color. It costs a bit over $40 + shipping for the "custom size and angle cut" piece of micro cell, closed cell foam. They did a great job!

Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Sep. 24th, 2009

Type: Hammerhead Sled

Snow Conditions: Powder or Packed (depends on skis used)

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Hammerhead SledHammerhead Sled
Hammerhead Sled

Buy a Hammerhead Sled

Best New Technology & Design Runner Sled



IF I COULD GIVE THIS 10 STARS, THEN I WOULD! This is simply the coolest modern sled on the entire planet to date!. To sum it up, it's the Lamborghini of sleds. It's like a redesigned flexible flyer with bling. It is ranked in the top 3 for the best adult snow sled here. The Hammerhead Sled weighs roughly 9.7 lbs., is 51" long end to end and 23" wide. The sled design and cool add-ons will be the talk of the sledding hill I'm sure. As you can see from the photo, I've opted for the headlight, taillight, bell and optional powder skis for my list of accessories on this sled. I doubt you will find much competition at that next sled race that can match this sleds speed and sharp turning radius. The sled is built with an ergonomic design and suspension to give you a ride of a lifetime through the snow. If your 8 or 80, this sled will bring out the child in you. I know that when I received mine I was ALL TEETH, grinning ear to ear! I highly recommend the Hammerhead Sled and vote them as having the 2009/2010 best and coolest sled in the world! Job well done to their R&D design department!

   


Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Toboggan Review Date: Feb. 20th, 2009

Type: 7.5' Downhill Wooden Coasting Toboggan

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Quality Wooden TobogganQuality Wooden Toboggan
Quality Wooden TobogganQuality Wooden Toboggan

Buy This Wooden Coasting Toboggan Here!

Best Quality Wooden Toboggan Retailer

IT'S HUGE & TOP QUALITY! It's so huge, that when my wife opened the door she wondered how her little self was gonna get in without my help (since I was still at work). This coasting toboggan is simply a piece of craftsmanship art by the Northern Toboggan and Sled Company! It weighs roughly 30 lbs., is 7.5" long end to end and 16" wide. The Red Oak construction provides beauty and durability and the Red Oak bottom polishes with time to become very slick. It has a linseed oil finish, the boards steam bent and overall it is built to last for generations!

One of the features of their toboggans is the "slow bend" which is more the original toboggan bend where the boards come up gradually at first until they are well off the ground before they wrap over 180 degrees. This allows the toboggan to climb obstacles more readily rather than ploughing into drifts etc. This Downhill toboggan is a scaled down version of their 12' 3 board dog toboggan which has 7/8" thick boards and is bolted together with laminated cross piecing. This downhill toboggan is made from 13/32" boards but otherwise is made the same way using the same technique. It is quite durable. Also many recreational toboggans are not tapered in the curl, starting approximately where the curl is coming up off the ground a tapering cut is made on the outside edges and narrowing gradually until it reaches the tip of the curl. When a toboggan is used for freighting this is desirable if the sled should tip over with a load. The tapering cuts prevent the curl from being broken by digging into the ground in a spill with a heavy cargo.

I had to take 4 photos rather than the usual 2 for a review due to it's size. This is sure gonna be a crowd pleaser at the big hill! It'll fit the entire family (at least my son, wife and I, lol). Oh, and you can get a cushion to go along with this wooden coasting toboggan to keep your tushy comfy too (not pictured). I highly recommend NTSled.com and their very nice wooden coasting toboggans!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store ere.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Jan. 30th, 2009

Type: 47" Killer B Mad River Rocket

Snow Conditions: Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Mad River Rocket SledMad River Rocket Sled

Get on your knees! That's the motto of the Mad River Rocket Company. This is the black Killer B version of the Mad River Rocket (a knee board for the snow), not to mention the most popular of their sleds. The durable plastic shells are made in the USA of recycled plastic. The center of the black Killer B sled has some pretty cool looking artwork too (see here). We previously reviewed the more expensive Lexan version (see below) with the same dimensions. Both have a weight limit of 250 lbs. On this sled, you can mark your sled on the strap plate using a permanent marker. All of their sleds feature a quick release lap belt and ribbed kneepads that are designed for comfort and performance. The kneeling position allows you to see ahead, lean for balance and control steering. As with the Lexan sled, these are recommended to be used in powder, not packed snow. That is because the negative keel on the underside allows the sled to turn in the powder when the sled glides through the snow. There are a BUNCH of videos here dedicated to this sled. I highly recommend the Mad River Rocket sleds!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Dec. 17th, 2008

Type: 47" Lexan Mad River Rocket

Snow Conditions: Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Lexan Mad River Rocket SledLexan Mad River Rocket Sled

It's called "free sledding" and the Mad River Rocket sled introduced the phenomenon! This is the Lexan version of the Mad River Rocket (a knee board for the snow) and now VERY hard to find for sale. It's a very unique looking sled. It is a clear polycarbonate transparent thermoplastic that has outstanding dimensional and thermal stability. Being optically clear, it provides total luminous transmittance. In other words, it's "see through". It has 2" foam angled, ribbed kneepads, a padded knee strap to strap yourself in for the ride and can carry an individual up to 250 lbs! At only 7 lbs. and 47" long, this sled can be taken and manuvered just about anywhere there's powder! The negative keel on the underside is the key to turning. This type of sled needs powder conditions, so it isn't recommended for use on packed snow or ice. It just won't perform turns like you need. The advantage this sled has over all others is the ability to carve a turn. This is possible because of two features. First, the nylon webbing lap belt and thick foam pads hold the sled comfortably under the sledder, freeing both hands for easy steering, balance and control. And second, an ingenious design that incorporates double hard edged chines to dig into hardpack along a central snow channel to aid the sled in tracking through powder. This Lexan sled is the more expensive version, however the black Killer B sled version is just as good (just not clear) and more affordable. They also make a smaller sled called the Stingray for smaller kids. There are a BUNCH of videos here dedicated to this sled. I highly recommend this sled!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Snow Tube Review Date: Dec. 4th, 2008

Type: BIG 44" Commercial Snow Tube

Snow Conditions: Powder or Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Quality Big Snow Tube

Buy this Commercial Snow Tube here!!

2013 NOTE: We now sell direct with FREE SHIPPING from our SledRiding.com store
replacement inner tubes for these 44" covered snow tubes!

Best Quality Snow Tube Retailer

When it comes to the "best snow tubes", this is one that by far tops the list! You can see this snow tube used in this video that I made here (same as below video). This is the BIG 44" Commercial Snow Tube by RiverandSnowTubes.com. Also, see a listing of commercial snow tubing parks here. The 40 ounce vinyl coated bottom offers superior puncture resistance and a ride of a lifetime. It is perfect for rental use, ski area surface lifts, or high use snow tubing. It is also perfect for the common individual who wants a higher quality snow tube for those snowy days. The commercial 44" model is ranked number 1 for the best adult snow sled here. Show up to this sledding hill with this baby and you'll definitely be the talk of the town. Get multiple kids on it for a thrill ride down the hill. I guarantee that with this you'll outrun and outlast any one of those cheapo snow tubes sold at the common department stores! More specification details are that it has a 5' removable, replaceable heavy webbing leash and a 20" (Inner Diameter) recreational rubber inner tube. The 18.5 oz rip stop vinyl tops come in assorted colors. The bottoms are a heavy 40 ounce vinyl coated nylon in the color black. It is constructed with #6 brass grommets and 1" heavy nylon web handles. Also, the cover opening has been double needled with a 2" heavy poly web binding. All tubes are custom made for the customer in your choice of styles and colors. Handle and stress point backing systems are R.F. welded on to eliminate needle holes and thread decay due to abrasion and U.V. rays. So if you want a simply great snow tube ride with a built in "bounce of fun", then get this snow tube. You won't regret it! Extreme speedsters can wax the bottom for a rocket ride. I highly recommend this snow tube and is my favorite sled of choice! See me, the webmaster, in mid-air with one of these awesome tubes in 2009 here and also a video of my son and some others on this tube here. More reviews for this snow tube seller can be found here.

And yes, just like the newer review of the lighted blue snow tube above, I also pimped my red snow tube. See the pic here. For details on the stencil or the lights, see the similar blue snow tube review on Nov. 16th, 2009 above. I also added a foam pad in the center to provide more cushion for the tushy when getting some airtime. You can see a photo of the snow tube's foam pad here. I had it custom made at FoamForYou.com. The details on dimensions and type of foam are on the photo. I requested black as the color. It costs a bit over $40 + shipping for the "custom size and angle cut" piece of micro cell, closed cell foam. They did a great job!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Nov 24, 2008

Type: 52" Mountain Boy Ultimate Flyer

Snow Conditions: Powder or Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Best Wooden Sled Craftsmanship Retailer

Move over flexible flyer, you've met your match! This is the 52" Ultimate Flyer by Mountain Boy Sledworks. When I had opened up the box today after receiving this in the mail, my wife and I were amazed by the beautiful wood color and wood craftsmanship put into making this flyer. Unlike the Flexible Flyer reviewed previously below, this Ultimate Flyer can be used in both packed snow and powder snow. It has a unique base that is molded for both types of conditions. Adults and children alike will enjoy flying down those sledding hills with this Ultimate Flyer! Also, the steering is a exceptional with this sled since it will turn almost 90 degrees in each direction. When not in use, this sled will make a nice piece for decoration around the home during the holiday. Click here for a nice little YouTube video on the Mountain Boy Sled. I highly recommend this sled!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Nov 23, 2008

Type: 60" Flexible Flyer Model #1060

Snow Conditions: Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Flexible Flyer SledFlexible Flyer Sled

This is the 60" Flexible Flyer sled. We had gotten it from True Value Hardware. This is the same sled that I had when I was a little boy. It's metal runners perform extremely well on a hill with packed snow, however it isn't recommended for hills with deep or unpacked snow. The size of this sled will allow for an adult or 2 children to ride on it. If you lay down, you can ride 2 laying on top of each other or you can ride sitting down, using your feet to steer. You can turn each way about 45 degrees. If the conditions are right (packed snow), this sled is extremely fast! To gain that extra momentum after the runners become worn (red paint gone), I recommend sanding the runners with a fine grit sand paper to allow the shiny steel to show evenly. Then, wax the runners with hard candle wax. If and when the runners become rusty, repeat the process with the sand paper and wax. The brownish rust will slow you down. Under the right conditions, this "controllable" sled can be very very fast! For a video example, click here. I highly recommend this sled!





Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Nov 23, 2008

Type: 51" Wham-O Snow Boogie Sled

Snow Conditions: Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Snow Boogie SledSnow Boogie Sled

This is the 51" Snow Boogie (Tiger Shark) Wham-O foam sled. We had gotten it from Target. It is made of 1 1/4" heavyy duty cushion foam and the bottom is constructed of a hard durable plastic to give the sled speed. It has 4 handles for 2 children riders or 1 adult rider. If the bottom is waxed, it will even go faster! It performs best in packed snow. Unlike the above Flexible Flyer, you can't steer this, so where you aim it it'll head. However, if you lie down and dangle your feet or hands off, you may be able to give it some turning motion. I recommend this sled!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Toboggan Review Date: Nov 23, 2008

Type: 66" Heavy Duty Plastic Toboggan

Snow Conditions: Powder or Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Plastic TobogganPlastic Toboggan

This is the 66" heavy duty plastic molded lime green toboggan # 1136 Beast by Emsco. We had gotten it from Target, but it can also be found sometimes on Ebay. It is made of a very durable hard plastic. Emsco also makes this in a redish orange (# 1138 Beast). It can fit 3 children or 2 adults. It has a nylon rope attached for pulling the sled up the hill or pulling a child in the toboggan. It performs well in both powder and packed snow. If you wax the bottom, it'll gain you some additional speed. The person who sits in the rear is in charge of steering, however they must do so with their hands. By putting pressure down on the right rear side of the ground with your hand, the toboggan will turn slightly right. Vice versa for the left side. This sled performs best by sitting down, but I have seen people try to stand up on it and surf. Please wear a helmet if you do this! Lying down will gain you speed, but you may not be able to fall out if you need to quickly to avoid a collision. I recommend this tobbogan!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


BACK TO TOP


Follow Steve's board Sledding, Sleds & Snow Tubes on Pinterest.


Attention snow sled & snow tube retailers and manufacturers: To have your sled review considered, contact Sledmaster@SledRiding.com

HOME // FORUM // LOCATE A HILL // STORE




About / Advertise / Support / Fireplace / Horse Drawn Sleighs / Locate Hill / Pics (WOW) / Once Upon a Snow / Seasonal Links / Submit Hill


Website Statistics